Soviet Ambassadors to Austria, Austrian Ambassadors to the USSR

Ivan I. Il'ichev	Norbert Bischoff
13 June 1953–31 March 1956	3 July 1953–31 March 1960
Andrei A. Smirnov	Heinrich Haymerle
31 March 1956–14 October 1956	17 June 1960–2 June 1964
Sergei G. Lapin	Walter Wodak
19 October 1956–16 June 1960	7 July 1964–6 October 1970
Viktor I. Avilov	Heinrich Haymerle
16 June 1960–13 June 1965	3 December 1970–17 June 1974
Boris F. Podtserob	Heinrich Standenat
30 June 1965–20 September 1971	2 October 1974–17 May 1978
Averkii B. Aristov	Gerald Hinteregger
20 September 1971–11 July 1973 [sic]	8 September 1978–11 July 1981
Mikhail T. Efremov	Helmut Liedermann
10 March 1975–24 October 1986	1 October 1981–25 November 1985
Gennadii S. Shikin	Herbert Grubmayr
24 October 1986–24 May 1990	27 November 1985–29 September 1990
Valerii I. Popov	Friedrich Bauer
10 August 1990–30 August 1996	15 October 1990–31 July 1995

Source: Russian Embassy in Vienna, www.rusemb.at/botschaft/diebotschafter (2010); Information by the Austrian Ministry of European and International Affairs to the Author, 22 June 2009.